North of England Ophthalmological Society

P.J.Hay Prize

North of England Ophthalmological Society

P. J. Hay Memorial Prize Rules (modified 2012)

The prize shall be awarded by competition annually or at such intervals as the Trustees determine

The prize will be a sum of money (the amount to be determined by the Trustees) along with a citation

All members of the Society shall be eligible to enter for the prize; non-members shall not be eligible

The work should be of an ophthalmological nature or having a direct bearing on ophthalmology in the form of an original essay or paper

The work may be either previously unpublished, or published in a recognised ophthalmological, medical or scientific journal within two years of the application

Entries should be submitted by a single competitor.  Where an essay has more than one author, the entry should be made by, and in the name of, the first author, who should include a signed declaration by the co-author(s) that he/she is indeed the main author and that the prize, if awarded, should be given in its entirety to him/her personally

Each competitor may submit only one entry per year

Previous winners are ineligible for entry to competition and consideration of a prize for the next 2 years

It is a condition of entry and acceptance of the prize that competitors undertake to read their entries at a Meeting of the Society

Closing date for entries will be shortly after the summer meeting of the Society, usually held in June.  The paper should be read, and the prize presented at the following spring meeting of the Society

A pdf copy of the essay (together with the author declaration form if applicable) to be submitted. Contact the Executive Secretary via the Contact Us page here.

The adjudicating committee shall consist of the President for the time being of the Society, a PJ Hay Trustee and a member of the NEOS Council

The committee may determine that no award should be made if in their opinion no entry is of sufficient merit

Unsuccessful entries may, if eligible, be submitted in subsequent years.

A pdf copy of the rules is here